General Nonfiction Books – All Free and 99 Cents Only!

The Twelve Days Of Christmas

"The Twelve Days of Christmas" is sung in churches, houses, and concert halls throughout the Christmas season. It would be hard to imagine a Christmas celebration without it. From the partridge in the pear tree to the five golden rings to the twelve drummers drumming,...

read more

How Dogs Love Us

A Wall Street Journal bestseller.The powerful bond between humans and dogs is one that’s uniquely cherished. Loyal, obedient, and affectionate, they are truly “man’s best friend.” But do dogs love us the way we love them? Emory University neuroscientist Gregory Berns...

read more

The Life of Mikey

Michael “Mikey” K. Willis spent his most impressionable years in southern Appalachia. In his eye-opening new memoir, he perfectly captures the local culture of 1960s rural North Carolina. Willis’s memoir shows both the unique heritage of the region and his personal...

read more

Amelia’s Story

This is a powerful true story of one young girl's struggle to survive the state-care-system in the 70s and 80s. Amelia has just one wish, to make it through to adulthood and hold her destiny in her own hands. This is a harrowing true story, one of survival and human...

read more

Balancing on Blue

One man’s remarkable challenge. 2,200 miles of unforgiving wilderness. Can he escape the mundane to become a thru-hiker?Shortlisted for Outdoor Book of the Year by The Great Outdoors magazine.Keith Foskett’s dream of escape started with a single step. Thru-hiking all...

read more

Painkillers and Gummi Bears

As a registered nurse, Gail Stewart Frare knew too well all the terrible medical possibilities that could devastate a person, and couldn’t help but fret over her two sons, Jeff and Christopher. By the time Christopher entered his teen years as healthy as his older...

read more

Racing Through Paradise

Racing Through Paradise is the third entry in Bill Buckley’s now classic sailing trilogy.In the best-selling Airborne, he introduced us to his special style of seagoing: episodes of high adventure and high spirits, occasional hardships, companionship, and such...

read more

Unparalleled: A Win Like No Other

?Gripping tales of perseverance, hope, resilience, and relentless optimism come to life in this inspirational non-fiction about Canada's first-ever NBA Championship win!The day was June 13, 2019, when the Toronto Raptors achieved this groundbreaking feat for the first...

read more

The Mafia Philosopher: Two Tonys

“A fast-paced true-crime memoir with all of the action of Goodfellas” – UNILAD “Sopranos v Sons of Anarchy with an Alaskan-snow backdrop” – True Geordie PodcastBreaking bones, burying bodies and planting bombs became second nature to Two Tonys while working for the...

read more

How to Analyze People on Sight

This carefully crafted ebook: "How to Analyze People on Sight - Through the Science of Human Analysis: The Five Human Types" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. First published in 1921, the book is based on human analysis...

read more

How We Learn

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our...

read more

The Perfectionist

His muse, Leonardo da Vinci, would have been proud. This is the story about Peter Kilham who constantly sought perfection to bring beauty and function to the public through his nature records and bird feeders. His son Larry reveals their many conversations about life...

read more

A Thousand-Mile Walk to The Gulf

In September 1867, Muir undertook a walk of about 1,000 miles from Indiana to Florida, which he recounted in his book A Thousand-Mile Walk to the Gulf. He had no specific route chosen, except to go by the "wildest, leafiest, and least trodden way I could find"....

read more

A Captain At War

He is trained and ready for war. Instead of leading Marines into combat, a Marine Captain is given the mission of advising an Iraqi Army battalion in one of the most violent cities in Iraq. The collected stories span seven months of nearly constant combat in 2006 and...

read more

Surviving Hiroshima

On August 6, 1945, 22-year-old Kaleria Pachikoff was doing pre-breakfast chores when a blinding flash lit the sky over Hiroshima, Japan. A moment later, everything went black as the house collapsed on her and her family. Their world, and everyone else's, changed as...

read more

The Pirate

In 1860, a sloop drifted into New York Harbor. Not a soul on board—just blood from cabin to deck. Looted coins led to Bowery thug Albert Hicks, the ax slayer who turned his shipmates into chum.His crimes were absolutely fiendish. His execution was pure ballyhoo. It...

read more

Twelve Years a Slave

Born into “the blessings of liberty in a free State,” Solomon Northup was kidnapped and sold into slavery in the Bayou Boeuf region of Louisiana’s Red River Valley. Twelve Years a Slave is the chronicle of his captivity at the mercy of sadistic plantation owner Edwin...

read more

A Parent’s Guide to 12 Days of Christmas

“Four calling birds, three French hens, two …” Wait! That’s not what the 12 days are at all. Use this guide to learn about the real 12 days of Christmas, why they matter, and how to begin more meaningful Christmas traditions. (Note: this is not a devotional.) Parent...

read more

The Sindbad Voyage

Sindbad.Perhaps the greatest fictional sailor of them all. But could his amazing voyages, recounted in the The Book of One Thousand and One Nights, be recreated in the modern world?Or were they just the stuff of legend?Tim Severin was determined to find out. After...

read more

This Van Could Be Your Life

From the bestselling author of The Long Run comes an emotional and adventurously funny true story of a man, a van, and a family on an epic journey of rediscovering what matters most.It’s been a rough time for Mishka Shubaly and the women in his family. In a failed...

read more

Odd Man Out

‘Incredibly good-looking, in a dark way … that curious quality of a man with an eternal secret. … That was what was so arresting. … That and the voice.’ Geraldine FitzgeraldThe reason for watching a James Mason film, as the film critic Pauline Kael once noted, was...

read more

The Brendan Voyage

It has been described as the greatest epic voyage in modern Irish history. Tim Severin and his companions built a boat using only techniques and materials available in the sixth-century A.D, when St Brendan was supposed to have sailed to America. The vessel comprised...

read more

I’d rather you call me Charlie

I'd rather you call me Charlie spans sixty-five years of reminiscences replete with the dreams of a five-year-old that came to life with humor, mischief, and some degree of peril growing into my teenage years. Life in the South enabled me to engage in antics and...

read more

Vikings

Who were the Vikings?Did they earn the reputation of remorseless raiders and greedy pirates?Where they more than the mere barbarians and plunderers that history makes them out to be?Find out the truth about the Vikings with History of Vikings: From The History of...

read more

Bad Therapist

Inside the biggest scandal in the history of America’s $40 billion drug recovery industry: a predatory Malibu rehab guru—and the fearless female patient who exposed his empire of deceit.Chris Bathum was a respected therapist, addiction specialist, and founder of one...

read more

Behind My Stethoscope

So you chose to become a nurse. Why?Most people answer that question with a cliché: “I want to help people.” Maybe that’s the same answer you just gave. That’s not the wrong answer, yet it’s also not the whole picture. Though good intentions are commendable, grand...

read more

Flying Free

The daughter of a Chilean father and a Filipina mother, Cecilia Rodriguez Aragon grew up as a shy, timid child in a small midwestern town during the 1960s. Targeted by school bullies and dismissed by many of her teachers, she worried that people would find out the...

read more

Wildering

Thousands of years ago, everyone lived in the wilderness. Today, most people live comfortably indoors. This is perfectly fine, of course, but many have completely lost touch with nature. Meanwhile, millions of acres of pristine wilderness are waiting to be...

read more

Nine Rupees an Hour

In a rapidly urbanising nation, rural India is being erased from the popular imagination. Through her five years of travelling across the villages of Tamil Nadu, Aparna Karthikeyan gets to know men and women who do exceptional—yet perfectly ordinary—things to earn a...

read more

Everybody Loves Kamau!

Kamau and Melissa’s love was real. But so was her grandfather’s prejudice. In this funny, moving essay, W. Kamau Bell, the host of CNN’s United Shades of America, shares his very personal story of culture clash, family tradition, and racial bias.When the black...

read more

Silent Tears

Irrepressible memories. Vacant eyes. A child being dangled from a third story window. A boy tied to a chair. Children sleeping in layers of clothing to fight off the bitter cold. An infant dying from starvation. Some things your mind will never allow you to...

read more

How Dogs Love Us

A Wall Street Journal bestseller.The powerful bond between humans and dogs is one that’s uniquely cherished. Loyal, obedient, and affectionate, they are truly “man’s best friend.” But do dogs love us the way we love them? Emory University neuroscientist Gregory Berns...

read more

Lies We Tell Mothers

Bestselling author of the Bad Mother books Suzy K Quinn reveals the truth behind the lies we tell mothers, one sleepless night at a time.Suzy and Demi were carefree twenty-somethings. They had fun! They didn’t have responsibilities! And then they decided to have a...

read more

Bed, Breakfast & Drunken Threats

Dave Seminara created his first international incident in 1986—provoking outrage among the Maltese by dressing up like Colonel Muammar Gaddafi while representing the tiny, Catholic island nation during an 8th grade model U.N. exercise. Since then, he has spent much of...

read more

Want to know when your favorite bestsellers are on a cut-price deal?