The Compact History of the Revolutionary War

The Compact History of the Revolutionary War by R. Ernest Dupuy

Author: R. Ernest Dupuy, Trevor N. Dupuy

Category: History, Politics and Culture

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: January 16, 2022

Deal ends: January 16, 2022

Description:

The Boston Tea Party. Brandywine. Germantown. Bunker Hill. Lexington. Saratoga. Charleston. George Washington. Paul Revere. Daniel Boone. Benedict Arnold: these are just a handful of the people and battles that shaped the war that birthed a nation.

The American Revolutionary War is such an important event in world history that it can be hard to separate fact from fiction. But military historians R. Ernest Dupuy and Trevor N. Dupuy set out to do just that, busting the myths to uncover the truth behind the momentous events that saw a ragtag crowd of reluctant amateurs take on and beat the extraordinary military power of the British Empire.

This book is a fascinating account of the unfolding of the war, painting a background in which Britain ruled the waves until they imposed taxes on the Thirteen Colonies, leading to widespread indignation. The rest, as they say, is history…

Praise for Trevor N & R Ernest Dupuy
“It is a comprehensive treatment of its subject, covering the good leadership as well as the bad. It is well worth reading for military and civilian alike. Besides this, it is entertaining reading.” General Gavin

“Superb...enthralling...highly recommended.” Library Journal

“Concise, well-written...a wide selection of paintings and photographs and excellent maps...aid in understanding the complexities of strategy and following the action.” The New York Times

Colonel R. Ernest Dupuy (1887- 1976) was a newspaperman as well as a National Guardsman as a young man. He saw action in both World Wars. Twenty-five years later, as acting director of the SHAEF public relations division, it was his voice that announced the Normandy landings. After his retirement in 1947, he specialized in writing military history, and authored many books on the U.S. Army, West Point, and military affairs.

Colonel Trevor N. Dupuy graduated from the United States Military Academy in 1938, and in World War II spent more combat time in Burma than any other American. Brave Men and Great Captains was the third of fifteen book collaborations between father and son. Since his retirement from the Army in 1958, he has written many books and articles on military history and affairs.
Read more

Matt Bannister (Books 1-9)

Author: Ken Pratt

Category: History, Politics and Culture

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: October 15, 2021

Deal ends: October 19, 2021

Description:

Fifteen years ago, the young Matthew Bannister ran away from the town of Willow Falls. Now famed U.S. Deputy Marshal Matt Bannister is coming home to reconcile with his family. He quickly realizes that old feuds unsettled never die and he must come face to face with his painful past.

Matt is a fighter, a killer and a tough man who isn’t afraid to stand his ground against anyone. Across the Oregon mountains he encounters religious prosecution, murder, kidnapping and lies – but he also experiences love, family, justice and the power of prayer.

Just John

Author: Reg Quist

Category: History, Politics and Culture

Regular price: $3.49

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: October 11, 2021

Deal ends: October 18, 2021

Description:

FROM SLAVE TO RANCHMAN – A HISTORICAL WESTERN BASED ON TRUE EVENTS.

In return for his freedom, a slave is tasked with the job of delivering a valuable stallion to a horse farm in Tennessee. The Civil War is dying down and the roads are dangerous but with some help the horse is delivered and the slave sees freedom.

Wishing to be freed from any remembrance of the slave farm, John has a last name that he refuses to use. John’s skill with horses opens doors for him which eventually take him to Fort Worth, Texas. More open doors, over a period of years, find him on a cattle drive to Montana, followed by a second drive into Alberta, Canada. From there, he chooses the name Ware. John Ware stays in Alberta, where he becomes a much loved and respected Alberta rancher.

The John Ware story is well known, however since he never learned to read or write he left no historic record of his background.

Unlost

Unlost by Gail Muller

Author: Gail Muller

Category: History, Politics and Culture

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: September 19, 2021

Deal ends: September 19, 2021

Description:

‘Gail writes with humour, heart and passion.’ Giovanna Fletcher, Sunday Times #1 bestselling author

Gail Muller was told she’d be in a wheelchair by the age of forty. At forty-one, she embarked on one of the world’s toughest treks – The Appalachian Trail. An inspiring, uplifting and moving account of one woman’s incredible journey into the unknown and how she reclaimed herself in the process.

As Gail took her first steps on the 2,200-mile trek through the wilderness of the USA, she had no idea what lay ahead of her, but she knew she felt burnout from city life, lost and broken – ready to heal a mind and body that she had battled with for so long.

From the resilience-building mountain climbs, painful injuries and harsh reality of braving the raw elements, to the unexpected friendships forged with other hikers and the kindness of strangers offering food and shelter – with every step, Gail started to let go of a past dominated by chronic pain and reconnected with herself in a way she’d never been able to before.

A love letter to the healing power of the wild outdoors and an incredible testament to the strength of the human spirit, Gail’s story is for anyone who has ever felt stuck in a rut, lost or scared. She shows us that even in our darkest times, it’s possible to find our inner grit, face our fears and feel hopeful.

Essential reading for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.

Read what everyone is saying about Unlost:

‘An amazing debut! OMG!... I really loved your book! And so glad that you made this journey!... I'm not a crier, but your last chapter had me almost in tears. So (wonderfully) emotional.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Muller's story is inspirational… her writing is warm and witty, and there were quite a few moments that made me snort or chuckle - or suck in my breath. I read the book in more or less a day - I just had to consume it… it was a joy to read a woman's take on it all, let alone a woman suffering a chronic condition so similar in ways to my own. This book does all it can to communicate to its reader that there is worth and joy to be found in pushing the boundaries we perceive around us.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Muller's brave journey is one of enlightenment, perseverance, and strength against all odds, a testament to pushing beyond the boundaries of what our physical bodies limit us. A Great Read!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘As I was reading this book, I found myself holding my breath quite a few times, hoping that she was going to be all right… Gail put everything she went through in this book with such depth that I felt like I was right there with her.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Gave me pause to think outside the box. Was I missing out? Has all my stuff been distracting me from growing, living? I found her journey most encouraging and I was so proud of her accomplishments.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

In the Wars

In the Wars by Waheed Arian

Author: Waheed Arian

Category: History, Politics and Culture

Regular price: $23.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: September 13, 2021

Deal ends: September 13, 2021

Description:

AS SEEN AND HEARD ON: BBC NEWS, RADIO 2, RADIO 4, ITV NEWS, LBC NEWS, ALJAZEERA, CHANNEL 4 NEWS AND SKY NEWS

'At a time when displacement has become increasingly politicized, this book is a gift, a dazzling testimony to the extraordinary contributions that refugees make to the host communities that welcome them.' KHALED HOSSEINI, author of The Kite Runner

'A thrilling and absorbing read from first to last.' STEPHEN FRY
__________

Born in war-torn Afghanistan, Waheed Arian's first memories are of bombs. His first-hand experience of the power of medicine inspired him to dedicate his life to healing others. But how does a boy with nothing hope to become a doctor?

Fleeing the conflict with his family, he spent much of his childhood in refugee camps in Pakistan, living sometimes ten to a room without basic sanitation or access to education. Waheed largely taught himself, from textbooks bought from street-sellers, and learned English from the BBC World Service. Smuggled to the UK at fifteen with just a hundred dollars in his pocket, he found a job in a shop. He was advised to set his sights on becoming a taxi driver. But the boy from Kabul had bigger ambitions.

Working through PTSD and anxiety, he studied all hours to achieve his vocation. He was accepted to read medicine at Cambridge University, Imperial College and Harvard, and went on to become a doctor in the NHS, currently in A&E on the Covid frontline. But he wanted to do more. In 2015 he founded Arian Teleheal, a pioneering global charity that connects doctors in war zones and low-resource countries with their counterparts in the US, UK, Europe and Australia. Together, learning from each other, they save and change lives - the lives of millions of people just like Waheed.

For readers of Educated and War Doctor, this is the extraordinary memoir of a boy who recognized the power of education and dreamed about helping others. It is a tale of courage, ambition and unwavering resilience in the face of all the challenges that life can throw in your way.
__________

'A powerful, heart-warming account... I was moved and delighted.' JOHN SIMPSON

'Immensely powerful and moving... Dr Arian's journey, resilience and heart are truly remarkable.' DR RACHEL CLARKE