Author: Lisa Regan

Category: Mystery & Crime Fiction

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: February 11, 2024

Deal ends: February 11, 2024

Description:

The little girl’s bright blue eyes are wide with fear, her hair tousled, her tears making tracks in the dirt smudged across her cheek. Curled tight in a tiny ball, it’s as if she wants to hide away forever. “He took her!” she cries. “He took my sister!”When a desperate mother calls Denton police department to report her children missing, Detective Josie Quinn races to investigate.Sixteen-year-old Kayleigh and her little sister Savannah went for a walk in the woods but never came home. They are good girls and know not to go far, say their frantic parents. Kayleigh always looks after Savannah and brings her home safely. Until now…Even as she vows to bring the sisters home safely, Josie’s blood runs cold: because they are not the only missing children. Rumors are spreading about the legend of “The Woodsman”: when pairs of children go into the woods, The Woodsman takes one of them and only one comes out alive. With local teenagers daring each other to walk into the woods at night in pairs, Josie knows that nobody is safe from the hysteria sweeping Denton. Little Savannah Patchett is soon mercifully found alive, alone and terrified, but she tells Josie “The Woodsman has taken my sister”.All Josie’s leads seem to reach dead ends: her team traces Kayleigh’s scent to a dank, dark cabin in the woods, but the owner has an alibi and there is no evidence that Kayleigh has been inside. When Josie persuades Kayleigh’s classmates to talk, she learns that Kayleigh herself had a secret boyfriend whose identity is a mystery. Josie is desperate to track him down and to work out if he could hold the key to solving the case.Then Josie’s worst fears come true: another pair goes missing and one of them is found dead soon after. Another teenage girl, lying straight and still, a halo of blood surrounding her beautiful blonde hair.Josie knows that the legend of The Woodsman is nothing more than a story, but the truth is far more horrifying… With Kayleigh still out there somewhere and the TV news filled with stories of a serial killer at large, how far will Josie have to go to find the killer before more innocent lives are lost?A completely addictive crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Guaranteed to keep you up all night, this gripping page-turner is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.What readers are saying about My Child is Missing: “Wowza!… I was on the edge of my seat, turning the pages, doing my own super sleuthing… This book grabbed my attention from the very first page and did not let go.” Open Book Posts, ?????“Holy smokes, what a twisty ride! I could not put this one down… I held my breath several times and I know my jaw dropped to the floor near the end. What a fabulous read!”@books_bostons_baking, ?????“All I can say is WOW! WOW! WOW!… This is a must-read!”Goodreads reviewer, ?????“The ending is just completely WOW! The twists and turns threw me off completely and I wouldn't have guessed in a million years!… This is the most entertaining, engaging, thrilling series EVER.” @bookreviewercakemaker,?????“5 stars isn't enough to describe how good this book is! This book grabbed me on page on and refused to let go!… To say this book had me on the edge of my seat would be an understatement… I was blown away.” Goodreads reviewer, ?????“Another home run! Grabs you from page one and holds on tight through page after page of suspense!… A rollercoaster of twists and turns. Absolutely unputdownable!” Goodreads reviewer, ????