When We Were Innocent by Kate Hewitt

Author: Kate Hewitt

Category: Popular Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: January 20, 2023

Deal ends: January 20, 2023

Description:

You love your father with all your heart. But what if he’s not who you think he is? What if he’s kept an unforgiveable secret from you his whole life?
Libby Trent believes she knows the difference between right and wrong.
But everything changes when she finds out about a man named Hans Brenner, a Nazi who escaped Germany after the Second World War. A war criminal who has lived his whole life in hiding.
Because the man suspected of being Hans Brenner is Libby’s own beloved father.
The sweetest, gentlest man she knows. Who raised her alone, who lives in her family home. Who cares for and watches over Libby’s own children.
When Libby finds a secret box in her father’s bedroom, she knows it might contain evidence. But does she dare open it, if it could prove her father guilty of the most heinous crimes in history?
Because if she finds evidence, she won’t just have to choose between right and wrong, she’ll have to choose whether to betray her own father…
A totally heartbreaking and powerful story about a daughter’s impossible dilemma and the darkest of family secrets, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse, and Diane Chamberlain.
Readers are loving When We Were Innocent:
“WOW!!!! What can I say?!?!… Grab the tissues as you will need them!!!… An absolute rollercoaster ride of emotions… One of the most thought-provoking books I have ever read… I was utterly glued to the pages and I could not bring myself to put it down… I had tears absolutely streaming down my face by the time the beautiful yet absolutely shocking ending came… And just when I thought I had run out of tears they started pouring out again… and I do not cry easily… An absolutely unputdownable, addictive and compelling devastatingly beautiful heartbreaking book!!!” Bookworm86 ?????
“Phenomenal… Simply amazing… I couldn’t put it down. Wow… Will have you gasping for your next breath… Heartbreaking… Had me in tears so many times… I devoured this… Wonderful, emotional and completely gripping.” PageTurners ?????
“What an emotional rollercoaster!!!! I can’t tell you how many times this book made me tear up!… Loved this so much!” @bookreviewsandfun ?????
“Incredibly moving… pulls at your heart-strings and makes the tears flow… An emotional novel that’s had me so involved that I’ve spent the whole of today just reading, unable to turn the pages fast enough.” NetGalley reviewer ?????
“I had tears of sadness rolling down my face while reading this book… Incredibly impactful… Highly emotive, devastating all while keeping a tight hold on the smallest thread of hope… One of my favorite books of 2022.” Robin Loves Reading ?????
“SPECTACULARLY written, this contender for my most cherished read of 2022 needs to be on every historical fiction reader’s list… I will remember this book for a very long time.” Goodreads reviewer ?????
“Gripping from the beginning… I really FELT the story… The author writes such a vivid picture of events, I audibly gasped at times… I will be suggesting it as next month’s book for my book club.” Goodreads reviewer ?????
“Incredible… read it in one day—couldn’t do anything else… Grabs you from the start and doesn’t let go… When your family is at risk or your own life, what would you do?… Excellent… Highly recommended.” Goodreads reviewer ?????
“I loved this story so much. It was poignant, heart-breaking and yet life-affirming… Brilliant… Thought-provoking, gut wrenching and full of darkness followed by joy and relief.” Goodreads reviewer ?????