by

Author: Brian Battison

Category: Mystery and Crime Fiction

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: FREE

Deal starts: January 01, 1970

Deal ends: January 01, 1970

Description:

????? “The characters are well written and the story itself full of twists and turns. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait for the next book in the series to see what happens to Jim next.” Tracey

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE CRIME MYSTERY SERIES!

Meet Chief Inspector Jim Ashworth. An old-school detective who knows how to handle the law, and himself.

Please note this was originally published as The Christmas Bow Murder.

Blonde, attractive Stella Carway is found murdered. A blue bow is tied around her broken neck and her near naked body displayed like a bizarre gift.

Her stormy marriage immediately points to her evasive husband, Steven, as the killer. But Chief Inspector Jim Ashworth is not so sure.

This complex mystery will have you turning the pages until the stunning conclusion.

Perfect for fans of Peter May, Peter James, James Oswald, Alex Gray, Roger Silverwood and Helen H. Durrant.

PRAISE FOR BRIAN BATTISON

“Battison, a dab hand with a satisfyingly tricky plot, puts a fresh face on it all. This debut book is a welcome end-of-year surprise.” Wall Street Journal

“Battison plots his tale well.” Publishers Weekly

????? “Well engrossed in the story and writing flowed at a good pace. Compliments to author for a most satisfying ending which left me wanting to read the next one in the sequence.” BEC

????? “Detective Jim Ashworth is a wonderful character. This author has created a cast of characters that are interesting and they are brought to life through this very intriguing and puzzling murder. I am looking forward to reading more in this series.” Melinda

“. . . Navigating this maze-like conundrum that seems to have all dead ends, ramps up page turning suspense culminating in a dynamite, completely unforeseen finish.” Eileen

MEET THE DETECTIVES
Chief Inspector Jim Ashworth is a 30-year veteran policeman with a fierce pride in his job. His position has been questioned by his boss, who insists that CID must be modernised. Despite his slightly hostile brown eyes and harsh exterior, he is a loyal and kind soul.

DS Owen Turner is a skilled detective, opportunist, and the man lined up to take over from Ashworth. Turner is the complete opposite to his superior. He’s tall, good-looking and always expensively dressed.

THE SETTING
Bridgetown is a typical East Midlands town: its nucleus made up of thatched cottages, stone terraces and council properties surrounded by modern estates of detached homes. The busy high street is always bustling with shoppers, particularly on market day when the roads are lined with stalls of all shapes and sizes. The River Thane runs through the small town and is spanned by an impressive stone bridge with seven arches – a historical landmark from which the town derived its name.

DETECTIVE JIM ASHWORTH SERIES
Book 1: TIED TO MURDER
Book 2: THE PRICE OF MURDER
Book 3: FLIRTING WITH MURDER
Book 4: MURDER IN THE COTTAGE

Join the Joffe Books mailing list for updates on the next mystery coming soon!