The Secret Diary by Anna Stuart

Author: Anna Stuart

Category: Popular Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: November 03, 2021

Deal ends: November 03, 2021

Description:

‘An absolute must read. I devoured this book in its entirety… I am almost speechless… a box of Kleenex is mandatory. I absolutely loved this book, historical fiction at its best!... Definitely worth ten stars.’ Page Turners, ?????

1945, England: Brave and determined Nancy Jones is fighting for her country as a gunner girl. Each night she scans the skies for enemy planes, feeling both exhilarated and terrified by the responsibility on her young shoulders. And one dark night she’s forced to make a decision that puts her in extreme danger… When VE Day finally comes, Nancy allows herself to be swept up in a whirlwind romance with handsome Joe. They move to an idyllic countryside cottage with roses around the front door and Nancy hopes she can escape her past.

But when the terrible truth about the worst night of her life threatens to resurface will the secret shatter Nancy’s marriage?

2019, England: Devastated by the sudden loss of her husband, Lorna Haynes escapes to the beautiful but crumbling Gamekeeper’s Cottage. When she enters, it’s like going back in time. A soldier’s uniform still hangs on the back of the door and the flowery wallpaper is intact. At the back of the room, Lorna discovers a red, leather-bound diary in a hidden compartment of a desk drawer.

As Lorna battles with heartache, she takes comfort in reading the ink-stained words. Turning the pages of the old book, she learns of the incredible bravery of the woman who lived in the house decades before her. And discovers a shocking wartime secret that will change the course of her own life…

Fans of The Nightingale, The Alice Network, and Lilac Girls will love this unforgettable, poignant tale of love, loss and courage during the darkest days of war.