Author: Ann Bennett

Category: Popular Fiction

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: November 13, 2020

Deal ends: November 13, 2020

Description:

As she looks at the baby wriggling in her father’s arms, a bolt of recognition goes through her and she takes a step back. And it’s in that moment that she begins to protect her father’s secrets.1934, Weirfield-on-Thames. Connie Burroughs loves living in the orphanage that her father runs. Exploring its nooks and crannies with her sister, hearing the pounding of a hundred pairs of feet on the wooden stairs, having a father who is doing so much good. But everything changes the day she sees him carrying a newborn baby that he says he found near the broken front gate. A baby she recognises…Present day. Arriving at her father’s beloved cottage beside the river, Sarah Jennings is hoping for peace and quiet, to escape her difficult divorce. But when she finds her father unwell and hunched over boxes of files on the orphanage where he was abandoned as a child, she decides to investigate it herself.The only person left alive who lived at Cedar Hall is Connie Burroughs, but Connie sits quietly in her nursing home for a reason. The sewing box under Connie’s bed hides secrets that will change Sarah’s life forever, uncovering a connection between them that has darker consequences than she could ever imagine.A heartbreaking but ultimately uplifting tale inspired by the lives of the children who lived at the author’s great-grandfather’s orphanage. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan’s Tale and The Orphan Train will be hooked.What readers are saying about The Orphan House:‘Oh my goodness. What an amazing story of life, love, loss and finding yourself… Awe inspiring. I honestly am left reeling. This is my first book from this author, although it definitely will not be my last. Thank you for a journey that I will not soon forget.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘An amazing and spellbinding read. Exceptionally well done. I hated when it ended.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘Wonderful storytelling! I have just finished reading this book and I’m bereft! I was able, for a few days, to lose myself completely in the story… I highly recommend this book to anyone.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘What an amazing read!!! I didn't expect this to be a rollercoaster of emotions, suspense, and mystery but it was everything!!... I recommend this book so much!!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘This book gave me all the feelings at once… Keeps you hooked through the whole book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘If there were ever to be a perfect bookclub book, it would be The Orphan House… Beautifully portrayed characters, who were so vivid… Almost felt like watching it on the big screen, every place, person, and circumstance came to live and felt almost tangible… Will surely touch your soul.’ Goodreads reviewer‘True to life and totally believable. The plot was intriguing, and the delivery was perfect.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘I was hooked only a few pages in to the story… I cannot say enough about this book and I hope you will love it too.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘Loved this book… captures so many emotions… Couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘This was a fantastic read… It lured me in and I ended up hooked. By about the halfway point, I was completely captivated by the story and the mystery kept me guessing as I tried to figure it out… Beautifully written.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘Oh what a wonderful book! This beautifully written story tugs at the heart strings… I lived this book, it hooked me from the first line and kept me engrossed until the last… A book to treasure and reread. A masterpiece.’ Renita D’Silva, 5 starsThis book was previously published as The Foundling’s Daughter.