History, Politics and Culture Books – All Free and 99c Only!

Victory 1918

Victory 1918

The First World War changed the world forever but what if it had shaped a much different future? A century after the battles of the First World War ended, their consequences remain imprinted on the political maps of Europe and much of the Middle East. Dive deep into...

read more
Carrier Glorious

Carrier Glorious

The engrossing but tragic history of the Royal Navy’s worst loss of World War Two. Ideal for readers of Jonathan Dimbleby, Max Hastings and Craig L. Symonds. On 8th June 1940, the British aircraft carrier HMS Glorious and her two destroyer escorts HMS Ardent and...

read more
Murder in Little Egypt

Murder in Little Egypt

New York Times Bestseller: The “fascinating” true story of John Dale Cavaness, a much-admired Illinois doctor—and the cold-blooded killer of his own son (The Washington Post). Fusing the narrative power of an award-winning novelist and the detailed research of an...

read more
The Only Way to Fly

The Only Way to Fly

“This is the story of men and machines, a tale that took fifty years to unfold and is still being written.” – Robert J. Serling One year before Lindbergh flew the Atlantic, Western began flying the U.S. mail from Los Angeles to Salt Lake City. Those were the wild and...

read more
Mummy, Please Don’t Leave

Mummy, Please Don’t Leave

A heartbreaking true story of a broken family and the foster carer who wants to keep them together…The Watsons are no strangers to sibling placements but when Casey takes the call from her supervising social worker one frosty January morning, she can instantly...

read more
A History of Weapons

A History of Weapons

“[A] menacingly illustrated book . . . nerdily gushes over the design and use of 130+ historical instruments of combat.” —Thrillist One day a prehistoric guy picked up a rock and threw it at something. And the history of weapons began. Comedy writer and weapon nerd...

read more
Every Man Will Do His Duty

Every Man Will Do His Duty

Napoleonic-era accounts of life aboard Royal Navy warships: “Readers of Patrick O’Brian and C. S. Forester will enjoy this collection” (Library Journal). At the dawn of the nineteenth century, the British Navy was the mightiest instrument of war the world had ever...

read more
No Fear

No Fear

The true story of deadly life after the SAS. In No Fear, soldier Nigel Ely takes us from his high octane life in the Paras and SAS to Civvy Street where the name of the game is to think fast and shoot even faster. The real revelation for Ely came when he set up in the...

read more
The Assassination of JFK

The Assassination of JFK

JFK and 11110. What does that tell you? If you're of an enquiring mind concerning the JFK assassination, and you're an avid reader of JFK assassination Kindle books, you'll know that a few months before he was gunned down in Dallas, President Kennedy signed Executive...

read more
If Chaos Reigns

If Chaos Reigns

“A gem of a book that highlights the ‘fog of war’ as seen by American, British, and Canadian airborne units when they parachuted behind enemy lines.” —WWII History Magazine “Gentlemen, do not be daunted if chaos reigns; it undoubtedly will.” So said Brigadier S. James...

read more
Poppy in the Wild

Poppy in the Wild

From the #1 New York TImes bestselling author of The Dog Lived (And So WIll I) comes a tale of love and devotion defying all the odds.After losing her beloved beagle Daphne to lymphoma, author Teresa Rhyne launches herself into fostering other dogs...

read more
Matt Bannister (Books 1-9)

Matt Bannister (Books 1-9)

Fifteen years ago, the young Matthew Bannister ran away from the town of Willow Falls. Now famed U.S. Deputy Marshal Matt Bannister is coming home to reconcile with his family. He quickly realizes that old feuds unsettled never die and he must come face to face with...

read more
Just John

Just John

FROM SLAVE TO RANCHMAN – A HISTORICAL WESTERN BASED ON TRUE EVENTS. In return for his freedom, a slave is tasked with the job of delivering a valuable stallion to a horse farm in Tennessee. The Civil War is dying down and the roads are dangerous but with some help the...

read more
Unlost

Unlost

‘Gail writes with humour, heart and passion.’ Giovanna Fletcher, Sunday Times #1 bestselling author Gail Muller was told she’d be in a wheelchair by the age of forty. At forty-one, she embarked on one of the world’s toughest treks –...

read more
In the Wars

In the Wars

AS SEEN AND HEARD ON: BBC NEWS, RADIO 2, RADIO 4, ITV NEWS, LBC NEWS, ALJAZEERA, CHANNEL 4 NEWS AND SKY NEWS 'At a time when displacement has become increasingly politicized, this book is a gift, a dazzling testimony to the extraordinary contributions that...

read more
The Greatest Raid of All

The Greatest Raid of All

‘A deed of glory intimately involved in high strategy’ Winston Churchill A vivid account of the famous St Nazaire Raid that demonstrates the sheer bravery of the British Commandos and the Royal Navy. An essential read for fans of James Holland, Ant...

read more
Jabberwocky

Jabberwocky

Wall Street Journal Best Seller ”This is a holy book” —Rabbi Lawrence KushnerGraham Hale Gardner died before turning twenty-three and never learned to walk or speak due to severe cerebral palsy complicated by epilepsy. Yet he left a legacy of love...

read more
The Making of Henry VIII

The Making of Henry VIII

An essential biography that uncovers the childhood and youth of Henry VIII! Perfect for readers of Alison Weir, Tracy Borman and Antonia Fraser. What transformed a chivalrous prince into a tyrannical king? Henry VIII is one of England’s most famous kings, yet...

read more
The Brits Are Bonkers

The Brits Are Bonkers

Did you know that Boris Johnson, the British Prime Minister now lives in Buckingham Palace?You might also like to know why the Queen wants you to call her Liz when you meet her. Read these 20 British political humorous and satirical stories to help you understand a...

read more
We’re Not Sixteen Anymore

We’re Not Sixteen Anymore

You've seen ads for online dating on television, in newspapers, and (naturally) on computer popups. The models are cute, handsome, young, or at least looking good for their age. But what REALLY happens when a computer semi-illiterate 60ish widow is prodded into...

read more
The Drone Eats with Me

The Drone Eats with Me

An ordinary Gazan’s “devastating contemporary war journal” that chronicles his struggle to survive Israel’s invasion of Gaza (Michael Ondaatje, author of The English Patient) The Drone Eats with Me is an unforgettable rendering of...

read more
The Last Outlaws

The Last Outlaws

The Old West was coming to an end. Two legendary outlaws refused to go with it.   As leaders of the Wild Bunch, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid executed the most daring bank and train robberies of their day. For several years at the end of the 1890s, the...

read more
Japan

Japan

Kyoto - founded in the year 794 and capital of Japan for fully half that nation's recorded history - sits firmly in the center of Lucas Peyton Thomas's compelling, vivid history of Japan. Here, in vibrant detail, are the stories of the rise and fall of Japan's...

read more
Always Yours, Bee

Always Yours, Bee

"There's a guy. He was hit by a truck." On a rainy November day, Mia Hayes' husband left for work on his Vespa. Normally, she would have driven him, but Mia was waiting on a phone call with an editor and didn't have time. She never saw that caring, loving...

read more
This Shining Woman

This Shining Woman

Now chiefly remembered as the author of A Vindication of the Rights of Woman, Mary Wollstonecraft Godwin has often been acclaimed as a prophetess of the emancipation of her sex — a woman who did much to smooth the way for subsequent female triumphs. But...

read more
The Perfect Gentleman

The Perfect Gentleman

James Barry was one of the most outstanding doctors of the nineteenth century – a brilliant surgeon, a tireless campaigner for medical reform, and a compassionate Inspector-General of the Army. But throughout a long and distinguished career an air of secrecy,...

read more
The Trial of Andrew Johnson

The Trial of Andrew Johnson

How do you remove an unpopular president from office? On February 24, 1868, members of the United States House of Representatives voted to impeach President Andrew Johnson on thirteen separate charges of having committed high crimes and misdemeanors against the...

read more
The Hidden Hindenburg

The Hidden Hindenburg

By the author of Ashes Under Water (Lyons Press), here is one of the great untold stories of World War II. The Hidden Hindenburg at last reveals the cause of aviation’s most famous disaster and the duplicity that kept the truth from coming to light for three...

read more
A Very Private Diary

A Very Private Diary

The newly discovered diary of a wartime nurse makes for a fascinating, dramatic and uniquely personal insight into the experience of being on the frontline of service during the Second World War. As the war gets underway, eighteen-year-old trainee nurse Mary Mulry...

read more
The Middle East in Revolution

The Middle East in Revolution

‘In the end it is Lord Trevelyan’s vivid personal portraits of the men who made the Middle Eastern revolution that leave the strongest impressions.’ The Economist The years from 1955 to 1967 saw revolutions in the Arab world that set the stage for...

read more
The Middle Class

The Middle Class

So often we hear that an obsession with class is what defines the British. But when we talk of the middle class, what do we really mean? When was it first possible to define such a thing and is the term still relevant today? Would members of the middle class recognise...

read more
The Falcon and the Snowman

The Falcon and the Snowman

This fascinating account of how two young Americans turned traitor during the Cold War is an “absolutely smashing real-life spy story” (The New York Times Book Review). At the height of the Cold War, some of the nation’s most precious secrets...

read more
A Perfect Nightmare

A Perfect Nightmare

“A chilling portrait of the ways that abuse can be hidden behind a glittering façade. It's also a compelling story of a woman learning to navigate pain, mental illness, and trauma, until finally becoming an advocate for her own strength and...

read more
The Ranger Way

The Ranger Way

Discover the USA Today bestselling self-help memoir from a former Army Ranger, a hero of the 2012 Benghazi siege, and the subject of the book and movie 13 Hours, as he shares life-changing lessons of discipline, motivation, success, and peace. Thousands of people have...

read more

Want to know when your favorite bestsellers are on a cut-price deal?