Some Die Eloquent

Some Die Eloquent by Catherine Aird

Author: Catherine Aird

Category: Mystery and Crime Fiction

Regular price: $8.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: April 14, 2021

Deal ends: April 14, 2021

Description:

A deadly mystery by CWA Diamond Dagger winner Catherine Aird: Where there’s a will, there’s a way—for murder

That Miss Beatrice Wansdyke had died is not particularly surprising. A chemistry mistress at the Girls’ Grammar School in Berebury, she was a longtime sufferer of diabetes who managed to live her modest life to a ripe old age. But one thing is odd—Beatrice Wansdyke died a very wealthy woman. What was an old schoolteacher doing with a small fortune?
 
Meanwhile, Detective Inspector C. D. Sloan, Calleshire’s finest investigator, learns he is about to become a father. But with ominous players hell-bent on pursuing Miss Wansdyke’s money, will Sloan live to see his child’s first birthday?

An Oxford Murder

An Oxford Murder by G.G. Vandagriff

Author: G.G. Vandagriff

Category: Mystery and Crime Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: April 14, 2021

Deal ends: April 14, 2021

Description:

". . . characters are colorful, their world engaging, and Dr. Harry is especially charming. Details of food and fashion give a lush touch to the well-painted period settings--Oxford is evoked especially well--and the portrayal of factions, competition, and power plays within the scholarly world lend amusement and intrigue. Ongoing references to poetic theory, the Bloomsbury group, and the dark shadow of Hitler add to the textured sense of place. Those who aren't yet fans of Vandagriff will be hooked." --Historical Novel Review

“. . . the well-educated, literary characters . . . are enjoyable, and the plot is nicely balanced between tense action and the love triangle. . . an entertaining historical mystery." --Kirkus Reviews

Fans of Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane will love this tale! A stylish mystery is set in Oxford in the 1930's with loveable characters and a cast of eccentric suspects.

After Miss Catherine Tregowyn, poet, and Dr. Harry Bascombe, her bête noire, discover a body in the Somerville College chapel, they are declared suspects in a murder inquiry. How can they prove their innocence? The pair decide they must launch their own investigation into the strangling of Oxford don, Agatha Chenowith. But working as a team will not be easy. Their relations are anything but cordial.

It is not long before they uncover motives aplenty. Apparently, Dr. Chenowith was not at all what she seemed. As the surprises about the victim’s secret life multiply, they are awash in a sea of suspects.

Into this scenario sails the former love of Catherine’s life as he returns from Kenya. Is she going to give Rafe another chance to break her heart? He convinces her to give him a six-month trial, and eager to show his worth, he joins in the investigation. Rafe offers to fly Catherine and Harry in his de Havilland six-seater to the Isle of Man where they must pursue a lead. Inevitably, Rafe and Harry square off in a battle for Catherine’s affections.

Meanwhile, playing detectives proves to be a dangerous pursuit. Catherine and Harry shortly embroil themselves in a plot much larger than mere murder. No one wants to hear their theory, however. It contains truths too painful to contemplate. And it makes Catherine and Harry’s lives expendable.

Sexton Blake and the Great War

Sexton Blake and the Great War by Mark Hodder

Author: Mark Hodder

Category: Mystery and Crime Fiction

Regular price: $6.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: April 14, 2021

Deal ends: April 14, 2021

Description:

BRITAIN AND GERMANY ARE AT WAR AND SEXTON BLAKE IS IN THE THICK OF IT

As the battle for the Western Front rages, adventuring detective Sexton Blake pits his intellect and physical prowess against the machinations of the Kaiser. A band of intrepid allies join Blake to take on the forces of evil in three classic stories, collected here for the first time.

From uncovering secret German naval bases to dangling from Zeppelins, fighting atop moving trains and escaping firing squads, Blake moves through war-torn Europe solving mysteries and fighting against tyranny.

Join him as he enters a war of secrets, soldiers and spies…

‘Delighted to see Sexton Blake still going strong’
Agatha Christie

Murder at the Tea Party

Author: Sonia Parin

Category: Mystery and Crime Fiction

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: April 09, 2021

Deal ends: April 15, 2021

Description:

Fun 1920s Historical Cozy Mystery Warning: Afternoon tea with Lady Woodridge can be fatal. Evie has her hands full trying to keep the name of Woodridge free of scandal as well as mending fences with her maid Caro. No easy task when one of her afternoon tea guests is poisoned. Is it a coincidence when another guest is found dead from poison?

The Eva Rae Thomas Mystery Series (Books 5-6)

Author: Willow Rose

Category: Mystery and Crime Fiction

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: April 13, 2021

Deal ends: April 14, 2021

Description:

Multi-million-copy bestselling author Willow Rose’s new mystery series ensnares ex FBI profiler Eva Rae Thomas in some confounding murder cases. Mystery, love, and action this series has it all.All books in this boxset were instant #1 bestselling New Releases on Amazon. LET ME GO: What if a stranger told you that she believed your child is about to be killed? What if that woman was an ex-FBI profiler with a disputable reputation? Would you believe her? Eva Rae Thomas is chasing down a vicious killer, but no one will believe he even exists. If there are no unexplained dead bodies or missing persons, then how can there be a killer on the loose? What they don’t understand is that the perfect murder is the one that doesn’t look like murder. Can Eva Rae convince local law enforcement to help her with this case before the killer strikes once more? Or will she have to take matters into her own hands – again? IT'S NOT OVER:Former FBI-profiler Eva Rae Thomas is back in a heart-pounding novel of suspense. It’s so shocking it’ll have you sleeping with your lights on. Peter and Mary Marshall went on a vacation with their son and daughter but returned without their children. They went missing from their hotel room one night while the couple was downstairs in the restaurant for dinner. They never saw them again. Ten years later, the Marshalls have put the murder of their children behind them, moved to a different state, and had another child, a son. When he disappears during a vacation trip to Florida, the parents are suddenly in the limelight again. Public opinion seems to be that this can be no coincidence. These things don’t happen twice to the same people, do they? Former FBI-profiler, Eva Rae Thomas is doing well in her life, and things are calm until an FBI agent suddenly shows up, asking for her help with the case of the missing child. The kidnapper seems to have a message for Eva Rae since she was the one who supposedly solved the case ten years ago.As she digs into the disappearance of the boy, racing to save the child’s life, she realizes this psychopathic killer lurking in the shadows has unfinished business, and he’s not stopping till his debt is paid in full. Scroll up and grab a heart-pounding mystery today.

One Last Step

One Last Step by Sarah Sutton

Author: Sarah Sutton

Category: Mystery and Crime Fiction

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: April 13, 2021

Deal ends: April 13, 2021

Description:

“First read by this new upcoming author and she has a winner with this series. Suspenseful from beginning to end.”
--Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

“I was pulled in from the very start…in my mind it played out just like a movie.”
--Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

“Absolutely loved this first in the series from start to finish. Fast paced and easy to follow with a storyline that was tense and exciting, I found it hard to put down.”
--Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

ONE LAST STEP (A Tara Mills Mystery—Book One) is the debut novel in a new FBI mystery series by debut author Sarah Sutton.

Two hikers go missing along the Appalachian Trail, leaving only a bloodstained forest behind them, and when another hiker collapses on someone’s porch in New Hampshire, murdered by crossbow, the local police realize they have a serial killer on their hands––and need to call in the FBI.

FBI Agent Tara Mills is young, brilliant and new to the force. With a promising career in front of her, she faces the ultimate test when she is assigned the case. It soon proves to be more challenging than she ever could have imagined––an impossible riddle that leaves even her seasoned partner stumped.

Meanwhile, something about the case stirs a darkness within her––a tortured past that even her long-term boyfriend doesn’t fully understand. As nightmares consume her, she only hopes that her past will not come back to ruin her once again.

As more hikers go missing, and with her job on the line, Tara finds herself on a race against time as she combs through the forest’s trails. Peeling back each layer, she soon realizes that she is up against a true diabolical mastermind. And just when she thinks she has it all figured out, her instincts lead her to the most shocking truth of all.

Book #2 in the series––ONE LAST BREATH––is also now available!